Region 3 Administrator of Excellence

  • The purpose of this award is to honor an administrator from each of the nine MASA regions. The person selected is representative of the leadership excellence found in MASA members, exhibits a willingness to risk, possesses strong communications skills, is a progressive change agent, and has high expectations for self and others.
    Selection Criteria
    • Must be a practicing administrator and member of MASA.
    • Must have demonstrated professional and organizational leadership within their MASA region.
    • Must have provided service to MASA through active participation in an MASA district, regional, and state organization and/or leadership functions and activities.
    • Must have demonstrated active involvement in educational and community affairs.
    • Must be regarded as a role model by MASA colleagues.

Annual Winners

  • 2024 Jeff Holm, Willmar
    2023 Todd Holthaus, Hills-Beaver Creek
    2022 Chad Anderson, Tracy
    2021 Sherri Broderius, MACCRAY
    2020 Wayne Wormstadt, Windom
    2019 Chris Fenske, Lakeview
    2018 Cliff Carmody, SWWC Service Cooperative
    2017 Chris Sonju, Glencoe-Silver Lake
    2016 John Landgaard, Worthington
    2015 Paul Carlson, New London-Spicer
    2014 Jerry Kjergaard, Willmar
    2013 Keith Kottke, Springfield
    2012 Loy Woelber, WWG and Tracy
    2011 Dave Marlette, Tracy
    2010 Bill Strom, Mountain Lake
    2009 David Baukol, Montevideo
    2008 Kathy Leedom, Willmar
    2007 John Brennan, Red Rock Central
    2006 Gery Arndt, Jackson County Central
    2005 Corny Smit, Murray County Central
    2004 Luther Heller, Springfield
    2003 Lee Warne, SWWC Service Cooperative
    2002 Palmer Anderson, Lakeview
    2001 Brad Madsen, Dawson-Boyd
    2000 Rick Ellingworth, Redwood Falls
    1999 Richard Orcutt, Windom
    1998 Steve Kjorness, Westbrook Walnut Grove
    1997 No recipient
    1996 No recipient
    1995 H. Lyle Jones, Canby
    1994 William Bjorklund, Morgan
    1993 Ed Nystrom, Montevideo
    1992 Burt Nypen, Ortonville
    1991 Bernard Ailts, Canby
    1990 Harold Kirchgasler, Sleepy Eye
    1989 Dwayne Pecks, Ivanhoe-Lake Benton
    1988 Wally Johnson, Dawson-Boyd
    1987 Ralph Brynelson, Cottonwood
    1986 Ralph Norland, Montevideo